Ace of Clubs & Mini McKenny

Unit 130 June 2024 Helen Shanbrom Ace of Clubs Awards

Unit 130 final 2023 Helen Shanbrom Ace of Clubs Awards

District 11 Mini McKinney Masterpoint Race

District 11 Helen Shanbrom Ace of Clubs Awards

So, what is the Mini-McKinney and the Ace of Clubs, you ask? Here’s how the ACBL describes them:


In 1974, the ACBL Board of Directors voted to recognize the masterpoint achievements of all players and the Mini-McKenney races were established. The winners at each level of achievement are recognized by the ACBL each year in the April issue of the Bridge Bulletin and at the district and unit levels. Eligibility is determined by each player’s masterpoint holding at the beginning of the calendar year. The home unit of each winner may purchase a Mini-McKenney medallion to present to the player. Standings are updated monthly.

Helen Shanbrom Ace of Clubs

The vast majority of ACBL members play in local club games. To recognize achievement at the club level, the Ace of Clubs competition was created in 1984. These club champions are recognized at the unit level and ACBL-wide. All points won at the club level are counted in this contest with the exception of those won in STaCs. This award was renamed in 2011 in honor of Grand Life Master Helen Shanbrom of Tamarac FL. Shanbrom was one of the most active players in the ACBL for decades and won the top category of the Ace of Clubs more times than any other member in ACBL history.